Illegality and corruption in challenges to arbitral awards

21 May, 2024

Illegality and corruption in challenges to arbitral awards


21 May 2024    
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm


The View, The Royal College of Surgeons
38-43 Lincoln's Inn Fields, , London, WC2A 3PE

Event Type

Join us for this evening panel session Illegality and corruption in challenges to arbitral awards on Tuesday 21 May, the second in a series of International Arbitration events taking place this year.

Our expert panel including Ricky Diwan KCSiddharth Dhar KCTom FordPeter Webster and Katherine Ratcliffe will focus on how illegality and corruption may impact throughout the lifecycle of an arbitration. This discussion includes addressing the illegality of the matrix contract (and how, if at all, that impacts on arbitral jurisdiction); how tribunals can and should deal with those issues; the potential corruption of the arbitral process itself; and the waiver of such corruption or illegality objections during the arbitration. The panel will consider these topics in the context of the approach of the curial court to resolving such allegations – whether by way of jurisdictional challenges under s 67 or challenges for serious irregularity under s 68.

The speakers have extensive experience of handling illegality and corruption objections at all stages of an arbitration (and subsequent challenges), including in two of The Lawyer’s Top 20 cases for 2023 and 2024 respectively – Nigeria v Process & Industrial Developments and The Czech Republic v Diag –  as well as before the Privy Council in Betamax v State Trading Corp and before the Court of Appeal, Commercial Court and arbitral tribunal in NIOC v Crescent Petroleum.

The event will take place in person at The Royal College of Surgeons. Registration will start at 6pm and the panel session will be followed by a drinks reception.

If you would like to register for updates on the series and attend this second event, please contact

In person attendance is limited and will be allocated on a first-come basis.


Ricky Diwan KC

Siddharth Dhar KC

Tom Ford

Peter Webster

Peter Webster

Katherine Ratcliffe