YPILG/A&P webinar: “Public International Law in the UK, post-Brexit”

23 June, 2020

Date / time
Date(s) - 23 Jun 2020
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Categories

Feeds
iCal | Google Calendar


YPILG and Arnold & Porter will be hosting a webinar on “Public International Law in the UK, post-Brexit”, which will take place on Tuesday, 23 June 2020 at 1 pm (BST / London) / 8 am (EDT / New York) / 8 pm (HKT / Hong Kong).

The event will be moderated by Lucas Bastin and Laura Rees-Evans of Fietta LLP.

Essex Court’s Jackie McArthur will cover “Post-Brexit claims by individuals under public international law”. Individuals can bring claims for a breach of their rights under public international law only in exceptional circumstances, including where they are specifically permitted by a treaty.  Brexit alters the basis of the UK’s membership of certain treaties during the transition period and beyond, and therefore may affect the ability to bring individual claims under public international law.  This talk will explore the nature and likely effect of some of these changes.

Details of each of the speakers and their presentations are set out below:

  • Maria Fogdestam-Agius of Volterra Fietta will present on the topic of “Post-Brexit EU-UK dispute settlement: critical and contentious issues”.
  • Bart Wasiak of Arnold & Porter will speak about the “Prospect of Brexit-related investment-treaty claims”.
  • Joel Dahlquist of Arbitration Chambers will present on “The role of UK courts in investment-treaty arbitration post-Brexit”.
  • Elizabeth Chan of Three Crowns LLP will address the topic of “The UK’s post-Brexit investment policy: a (lost) opportunity for novel design choices?”

Details of how to register can be found here.